My partner and I really want to produce gluten-free beers in the near future. Will we need entirely new equipment or can we use what we have now?

Add comment

1 answer


In short, no you will not have to purchase new equipment as long as you are taking the proper steps in order to prevent cross-contamination.

Gluten-free products must not contain wheat, barley, rye, or oats. Naturally, that would seem to be a problem for a brewer. However, most gluten-free beers are made with sorghum, rice, or another type of grain.

Even small amounts of gluten can trigger an allergic reaction, so keeping all  wheat, barley, rye, and oat materials separate is crucial. Because most components of a brewing system are non-porous, proper cleaning and sanitizing will remove the glutenous materials. However, it is possible for gluten  particles to remain in the air for several hours, so always keep a time lag before brewing a gluten-free beer.

Look into getting a "Certified Gluten-Free" designation for your beer. This will add to your legitimacy and assure your target market that the product is up to standard.
Add comment